Staying on track through unexpected trials

“Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength.” —Arnold Schwarzenegger

SW: 162.7 lbs
WEEKLY WEIGH-IN: 146.5 lbs
LOSS: 0 lbs
Overall loss= 16.2 lbs

When it comes to unexpected trials that pop up, it can be extremely hard to stay the course. It’s so easy to give up because we feel like we don’t have the time, or the energy to deal with said trial AND our eating habits. Our eating habits usually get left behind. It’s SO easy to give that up to concentrate on something we deem more “important.” I truly understand, BUT, our eating is just as important! I’d love to just sit around eating chips, cookies, bon bons…but I try my hardest to make that less of an option. When preparing the things I need to eat during a trial, I try really hard to set myself up for success. For instance, here in Texas this week, we have experienced some real hardships…a winter weather storm which happens about once every 5-10 years.

This particular storm produced snow, ice, record low temps and wind chills, high gusty winds, horrible road conditions, hours long power blackouts which in turn created a situation where our water treatment plants could not clean our water, so we had a water boil notice, low water pressure, stores that were either closed to conserve power, or had been cleaned out of the needed supplies…it’s been tough, more so for some that others. Pretty much none of these things were expected. The only things we knew to expect were snow, ice, and lower than normal temps and a lot more of these things than we are used to.

We knew we should be prepared to be in the house, but maybe just for a couple of days. When we placed our grocery order for the days ahead, we made sure to stick to things we knew would help me stay on track. We planned for things with plenty of leftovers so that we would not be rooting around to find things to make, or snack on. This would have been difficult though, had we lost power. If we had known that was a possibility, we would have made sure that we had the proper foods available that did not have to be cooked. Yes, we did had some chip/pretzel/popcorn options, but I still made sure they fit into my daily points…although on the first day, I had had enough. Knowing what could still be coming, as well as knowing what my parents, and others, were going through, I had to have a drink. We also made snow cream, because…SNOW, and I’m okay with that!

Now, the day all of this started was February 14th. Yeah, Valentine’s Day. We don’t go all out for that day, as we celebrate each other all year long, but we did have plans to go out for dinner. That didn’t happen. Luckily, we knew it probably wouldn’t, so we planned to have steak, green beans and a sweet potato at home. The thing is, it WAS Valentine’s Day, so we had planned to have dessert. Being stuck at home having dessert that was WAY more than we normally partake in (We usually share *1* dessert.) was not good. We ate it…ALL of it. I just knew that that would have put me way over my happy weight zone, but the plan was going to be to enjoy myself, then pick right back up where I left off. I have NO idea how, but I ended up LOSING weight that weekend. Not much, but I was just glad I was still in my happy range. Yay for little surprises. LOL

Working out over the last 4-5 weeks has been a bit tricky because I’ve had a couple of ribs that were unhappy. UGH I was able to do some dance, and walks with Wili, but I only did those a couple of times. I haven’t lifted weights at all, and I’m feeling the loss of muscle tone a little. I am pretty bummed about that. I THINK I’m on the other side of the rib thing now, so my plan is to try an arm workout today. I was going to try it yesterday, but with all of the craziness around me, I was just not feeling it. I was moody. 😛 I’m still not back to my normal happy self, but you know, I just need to pull up my big girl panties and get to moving! Moving can help elevate one’s mood (Although, most of the time, a good calorie burn just makes me sleepy! LOL)

Thank goodness all of this craziness should be pretty much resolved by Friday. Life can then get back to whatever “normal” is. We will also be seeing family soon, which always lifts my spirits, especially when it’s so hard to make that happen during these times of COVID-19. I will take whatever I can get!

May they Lord bless those of you who have been experiencing the same things over this past week. It’s been rough. I know that in times like this, it’s hard to make the best decisions for our health. I get it, I really do. If you picked up something to snack on when you normally wouldn’t, please do not be hard on yourself. As I always say, life happens. We just need to wake up the next day and KEEP GOING. Don’t punish yourself, or give up over one move. It’s going to be OKAY! Just remember, every day is a new day. We will always have decisions to make. We just have to make sure that we know that our health is worth the right one.

“I know what I have to do, and I’m going to do whatever it takes. If I do it, I’ll come out a winner, and it doesn’t matter what anyone else does.” —Florence Griffith Joyner

Love you all!
-Kisha

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started